top of page
Search
  • eqwelby

Mississippi Pot Roast

Updated: Jul 31, 2023



Also check out my Mississippi Pork Roast


I'm a lifelong hater of beef roast. I mean... how can a piece of meat get cooked SO DRY when it's cooked in a big pot full of water?


Well, after trying this recipe I now only hate MOST beef roast. This produced the most tender, moist, and flavorful roast I have ever had.


Ingredients


3-4 lb Beef Chuck roast (or 2 smaller roasts if on sale)

Salt and Black pepper

Flour to coat roast (about ¼-½ cup)

3 T oil or shortening (suitable for high temperature, not olive oil or butter)

½-1 Cup Beef broth

1 stick butter

2 pk Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning

10 or more Pepperoncini peppers


Directions


Season ROAST well on all sides with SALT and PEPPER. Rub the roast down with FLOUR being sure cover the side and ends as well.



Heat OIL or shortening on high in a large skillet. Oil should be hot but not smoking. Brown until you've seared a nice crust on all sides including the ends, about 10 minutes.



Put ROAST in bottom of slow cooker and pour BROTH around it. Pour SEASONING over the roast and top the roast with BUTTER. Place PEPPERONCINIS on and around the roast.



Cover and set slow cooker on Low heat for 7-8 hours. When ready, set aside pepperoncinis and shred meat into broth/gravy mixture.



How tender is this roast? This tender...



Serve over egg noodles, rice, potatoes, in a burrito, or as sandwiches topped with cooked pepperoncinis (stems removed, of course).



Tips/Add-ins


Next time I make these I'm adding a sliced Vidalia onion around the roast. That's the only thing I felt was missing.


More traditional pot roast veggies like potato and carrot would probably be delicious with this. I'll update this posts once I've tried it, as I'm concerned about how the pepperoncinis will affect the flavor of the potatoes.


Buy 2 boxes of beef broth/ stock. Use the ½ cup as described in the recipe. Turn 2 cups into gravy with corn starch and a splash of Kitchen Bouquet. Use the rest of the broth to cook half a bag of your favorite egg noodles.


After moving the roast to a mixing bowl to shred, I used 2 paper towels to sop up the excess butter floating on the top of the gravy. I love butter, but it's served its purpose now and I like being Mister Chubby not Mister Chubbier.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page